What is the Food Pyramid?

The Food Pyramid was designed to help you making healthy eating decisions and get a balanced diet. The Pyramid consists of six categories:

  • Grains – orange
  • Vegetables – green
  • Fruits – red
  • Dairy – blue
  • proteins (meat and beans) – purple
  • oils – yellow

You will notice that the yellow band is the skinniest – that is because you should eat fewer oils than the other categories. Orange, green, and blue are the biggest bands meaning you should eat the most grains, vegetables, and dairy products. You will also see that the figure is climbing the stairs – a reminder that exercise is also important!